Fantasy · Magic · New Adult · Romance

The Queen of Nothing by Holly Black

This is just going to be really quick since I wasn’t really planning on writing a review for this book because I wasn’t really looking at any of it’s flaws while reading it. I was just reading in bliss, happy to finally have this book in my hands, but after I was done with it I couldn’t tell if I had book hangover from this book or something else, and I think it’s something else.

I loved this book and it’s series. It’s the only book series by Holly Black that I like, but I have only read one other book by her. In that book I found the same problem, most of it was good, but I found something lacking. For that book I wasn’t really sure what it was, but for this one I am, and that’s Cardan.

Now don’t get me wrong, I LOVED Cardan. I loved him since we saw him in the first book and he was this horrible character. It wasn’t that Cardan, as a character was lacking, but content of him was lacking. Cardan. Most of the time in this book Cardan is not there. You see him, and then poof he’s gone. You read more about Cardan from other characters then you see him. You do see more of Cardan’s good side, but again you rarely see him. In the other books you see Cardan a lot. I just reread The Wicked King and you see Cardan plenty, but in this book I rarely ever saw him.

Other then my sadness over the lack of Cardan, I loved this book. It had it’s moments were I was bored, not gonna lie, but I’m pretty sure all books do that so I can’t fault that. Most of the time I didn’t want to put this book down. Once I got halfway through the book I had to force myself to put it down and read the other half tomorrow. I’m honestly sad it’s over. I want more. It’s a rare type of book that I don’t see a lot of it and I want more of. I NEED more of. I’m very sad this journey is over. I’m still stuck in the book hangover and have no idea how I will get out of it.

P.S. This book scared me for the characters many times. I had no idea how it was going to end to be honest.

2 thoughts on “The Queen of Nothing by Holly Black

Leave a comment